Black and White Boudoir

Today when I look at boudoir photography, so much of it is in color.   Sometimes I feel that the color can distract from the image.  This image is a perfect example of one that I feel works much better in B&W.

Black and white lingerie glamour photograph by Phoenix Boudoir Photographer Orcatek

Her lingerie was bright red, but in a black and white photograph it goes dark and is no longer the key focus of the photograph.  Now the curves brought out by the shadows and light draw your eye thru the image.   And isn’t that what boudoir is about.  Showing the beauty of the women and not the lingerie.

As a boudoir photographer, I always prefer to do a lot of B&W work in my boudoir packages as I like the feeling it gives.  The great part about digital photography is that I can make the choice of color vs B&W after the fact.

Now I have always preferred my fine art nudes to be in B&W white, but more and more I am finding that lingerie also looks so sexy in B&W.   Boudoir clients want tasteful, classy and sexy photographs – B&W is a valuable element in creating these.

As I mentioned a bit earlier, you can convert to B&W after the fact when shooting digitally.  But it is key to light with the consideration in mind.  I find that bright evenly lit glamour styles do not translate to B&W as well as shots that are typically classified as low-key or have a high contrast ratios.

If you are a photographer or a future client and ever in Phoenix, I’d love to chat with you.

Phoenix Boudoir Photographer – Orcatek

Leave a Reply

